Not that anyone asked, but here are the teams I follow:
MLB: Chicago Cubs
NFL: Dallas Cowboys
NBA: Sort of the Dallas Mavericks and the New York Knicks
NHL: Nope
Premier League: Tottenham Hotspur FC
It breaks down like this:
My family is from the Chicago area, and my grandfather on my mother’s side was a huge Cubs fan; it’s in my DNA.
I grew up outside of Dallas, and that should explain the Cowboys.
Never was a huge basketball fan, but I had fun during the Durk/Nash years, and I live in NYC now and the Knick are the least offensive sports team to me, due to my being a Cubs and Cowboys fan.
I was a huge Dallas Stars fan in the late 90’s and early 2000’s, BUT I never forgave the league or the players for the 2004-5 Lockout. Hockey is dead to me.
The first Premier League match I watched was Tottenham, and threw my hat in with them. I made my choice and I can’t change it.
The reason I bring all of this up is because, in my life, being a sports fan is not a logical thing. It more based on an emotional response than anything logical. I sort of have a low simmering distaste for people who move to a new city and stop following their old teams and latch on to the ones in their new city; where’s the loyality?
I will never not be a Cubs or a Cowboys fan. No matter how bad they are, or dwelling in the middle as they seem to do of recent, I will still show up for those teams. Sure, it’s hard to be a Cubs and Cowboys fan in the land of Yankees, Mets, and Giants, (Luckily, Jets fans give me a pass) but I take their ridicle as a badge of honor.
But I am sure having some issues with Tottenham right now. I had written the team off a couple of weeks ago, but then the tied Liverpool and played a good match against Madrid. I thought for sure they had turned a corner, and would beat Nottingham Forest on Sunday, or at the worst, force a draw. I never in a million years thought I would watch a whole team give up in the second half of a game.
I picked my club, and come hell or high water, I’m with them.
Lord in Heaven, though… they are sure as hell testing me. Seeing how far they can push me. Will I follow them into a relegation into the Championship? Will I join in on the protest against the owner group? Should I just put a paper bag on my head when I watch the final seven matches of the season? Cause it seems like that’s what the team is asking me to do.
